The New York State Association of Certified Football Officials, Inc, (NYSACFO,Inc.) was organized in 1925 at Syracuse. The three original chapters were Syracuse, Capital District, and Buffalo. The organization has grown to cover the entire state of New York and is made up of nineteen chapters.

When the organization was established, a single set of rules governed both High School and Collegiate games played in New York State. In 1933-34, the New York Public High School Athletic Association adopted the National Federation Rules to be used in all High School games.

Shortly thereafter, Football Officials and the NYSHSAA agreed upon what is known as the "Five Point Program" for Football Officials. The Five Points currently include:

Note that the current Five Points have evolved from the original guidelines but the original intent of the program itself remains unchanged